

CALL FOR PAPERS

(First Announcement)







General Information

"New frontier of maintenology beyond the Fukushima accident"

The fourth International Conference on Maintenance Science and Technology (ICMST-Tohoku 2018) will take place from October 23 (Tue.) to 26 (Fri.) 2018 at "Sakura Hall" on Tohoku University Katahira campus in Sendai, Miyagi, Japan. The previous three ICMST conferences were successfully held at the University of Tokyo, Japan (2012), Kobe University, Japan (2014) and Tsinghua University, China (2016), respectively. The conference will be an international forum for presentations and discussions on important issues relating to maintenance and for the exchange of up-to-date information on advanced maintenance technologies for nuclear power plants. Maintenance Science and Technology is an engineering discipline that provides a basis for scientifically rational maintenances. The discipline optimizes maintenance activities from the viewpoints of safety and economics. After the Fukushima accident, the credibility of nuclear safety has been an important issue worldwide. This conference will provide an opportunity to consider the contribution of maintenance activities to the safety management of the operation of nuclear power plants through thoughtful discussions. Oral and poster sessions will be held.

Prospective authors are invited to submit papers describing original research work in areas including but not limited to:

- Safety and Reliability
- Inspection and Repair/Replacement Technology in Nuclear Power Plants
- Decommissioning for Nuclear Power Plants
- Safety Enhancement Program in the Post-Fukushima Period
- Material Degradation and Mitigation for Aged Nuclear Plants
- Advanced Maintenance Technology in Sustainable Society
- Education and Training for Maintenance
- Maintenance Related Issues

The two pages short papers will undergo a peer-review process. The accepted contributions will be included in the Symposium Proceedings. Authors of accepted short papers will be solicited to submit the 6 page full version that, after a peer-review process, will be published in a special issue of the e-Journal of Advanced Maintenance (EJAM Academic Article Section)

Important Dates

- March 31, 2018→May 31, 2018: Two pages short paper submission deadline
- June 30, 2018: Acceptance notification
- August 31, 2018: Early registration deadline
- October 23, 2018: Full-paper submission

Registration

The submitting procedure requires the registration of the main author. The early registration is available via only the internet.

Registration fee :	Regular	Student
Early rate (deadline: August 31, 2018)	JPY 40,000	JPY 20,000
Standard rate (at the desk)	JPY 45,000	JPY 25,000
Banquet	JPY 5,000	JPY 5,000

Exhibition

The conference has exhibition stands in conference hall. Exhibitors can demonstrate their products to conference participants for the duration of the conference. The exhibit fee will be shown later in the conference website.

T. Kitano

(The Chugoku Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)

Conference Venue

The Conference will be held at "Sakura Hall" on Tohoku University Katahira campus in Sendai, Japan.

Conference Website

http://www.jsm.or.jp/jsm/ICMST2018/index.html

International Steering Committee

Chair		T. Konno	(Hitachi-GE Nuclear Energy, Ltd., Japan)
N. Sekimura	(The University of Tokyo, Japan)	T. Yonehara	(Hokuriku Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)
Member		H. Miyano	(Hosei University, Japan)
D. M. Chapin	(MPR Associates, USA)	M. Mochizuki	(Osaka University, Japan)
Z. Chen	(Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)	K. Morishita	(Kyoto University, Japan)
G. Dobmann	(Saar University, Germany)		okyo Electric Power Co. Holdings Inc., Japan)
Z. Li	(Tsinghua University, China)	K. Myojin	(The Kansai Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)
K. Miya	(Japan Society of Maintenology, Japan)	T. Nagura	(Chubu Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)
Y. H. Jeong	(KAERI, Korea)	T. Narabayashi	(Hokkaido University, Japan)
M. Mochizuki	(Osaka University, Japan)	K. Ogawa	(Tohoku University, Japan)
T. Narabayashi	(Hokkaido University, Japan)	Y. Ohkubo	(Kyushu Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)
K. Okamoto	(The University of Tokyo, Japan)	Y. Ozawa	(Fukushima University, Japan)
K. Papas	(Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)	N. Sekimura	(The University of Tokyo, Japan)
S. Udpa	(Michigan State University, USA)	N. Soneda	(Central Research Institute of Electric
S. Song	(Sungkyunkwan University, Korea)		Power Industry, Japan)
T. Takagi	(Tohoku University, Japan)	K. Suzuki	(Niigata University, Japan)
Y. Watanabe	(Tohoku University, Japan)	N. Tada	(The Japan Electrical Manufacturers'
Secretariat			Association, Japan)
T. Aoki	(Tohoku University, Japan)	H. Takahashi	(Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Ltd., Japan)
H. Miyano	(Hosei University, Japan)	M. Takahashi	(Tohoku University, Japan)
Organizing Committee		T. Uchimoto	(Tohoku University, Japan)
		A. Yamada	(Hokkaido Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)
Chair		A. Yamaguchi	(Japan Society of Maintenology, Japan)
T. Takagi	(Tohoku University, Japan)		
Vice-chair		Steering Chair	
Y. Watanabe	(Tohoku University, Japan)	H. Miyano	(Hosei University, Japan)
T. Aoki	(Tohoku University, Japan)	Treasurer	
Member			(Tebela University Jenen)
K. Chatani	(Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Japan)	T. Uchimoto	(Tohoku University, Japan)
K. Fukumoto	(University of Fukui, Japan)	Program Chair	
T. Furukawa	(Japan Power Engineering and Inspection	T. Aoki	(Tohoku University, Japan)
	Corporation, Japan)		
H. Hashizume	(Tohoku University, Japan)	Publication	Chair
K. Hotta	(Shikoku Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)	K. Suzuki	(Niigata University, Japan)
T. Iguchi	(Nagoya University, Japan)	Local Executive Chair Y. Watanabe (Tohoku University, Japan)	
F. Ishibashi	(Toshiba Co., Japan)		
Y. Ishizaka	(The Japan Atomic Power Company, Japan)		
K. Itoh	(JAPAN NUS Co., Ltd., Japan)		
I. Kato	(Tohoku Electric Power Co., Inc., Japan)		